Community Awards 2019

Canvey Island Town Council held its awards ceremony as part of the Town Council’s Annual Town Meeting. The initiative asked residents to nominate individuals and groups who had made a significant contribution to the quality of life for Canvey Island residents. The awards were established to recognise the efforts of those who work or live in Canvey Island and give up their own time, without any expectation or recognition, under the categories of Citizen of the year, Young Citizen of the Year, Youth Community Group of the year, Community Group of the year, Best Community Contribution from a Local Business and Best School Community Project.

The Town Council received several nominations in the following three categories; Citizen of the year, Community Group of the year, Youth Community Group of the year, judging proved difficult for the Town Mayor, Deputy Town Mayor and the Town Clerk.

In the category of Citizen of the year, Sandra Durrant was chosen to be the winner of the award, for her work with several different community groups.

Community group of the year was presented to Cast and Crew Theatre Group, whose theatre productions regularly raise funds for worthwhile local charities.

Youth Community Group of the year was awarded to Canvey Island Rugby Club in recognition of the contribution they have made to youth on Canvey in the last couple of years.

The Town Council also awarded a special recognition award to; George Walker, Liam Groom, Scott Stone, Dan Lazell, and Scott Hodges.

This group of individuals didn’t quite fit into any of the categories available, however the Town Council wanted to recognise their fundraising efforts for the Essex Air Ambulance.

The awards were presented at the Annual Town Meeting on 11th March at 7.30pm by the Town Mayor, Councillor Barry Campagna

For more information, please contact the Town Clerk on 01268 683965 or